BNP ‘beat up man’ for spilling leader’s beer – MP and the pub was not in Salford!!

Published by Jon Land for 24dash.com in Communities                        Wednesday 22nd July 2009 – 9:17a

BNP 'beat up man' for spilling leader's beer - MPBNP ‘beat up man’ for spilling leader’s beer – MP

BNP supporters beat up a man after he spilled beer over party leader Nick Griffin, an MP has claimed.

Labour’s David Drew (Stroud) alleged the “totally upstanding” young man was given “one hell of a hiding” after the incident, which took place last week in Painswick, Gloucestershire.

Mr Drew told MPs it was “indicative of what the BNP is like” but feared the alleged victim was too shocked to pursue a court case.

During a Commons debate ahead of the summer recess, Mr Drew told MPs that Mr Griffin, who was elected as a Member of the European Parliament last month, had visited his constituency last week.

“I don’t know why he was wined and dined in my constituency in Painswick but he was,” he said.

“It just so happens that one of my constituents took offence at this and happened to spill some beer over Mr Griffin.

“I happen to know the young man, and he is totally upstanding – he’s an outstanding individual. He is the sort of person I’ve been proud to be associated with.

“As a result of this he was taken outside and given one hell of a hiding.”

Mr Drew went on: “I am not prepared to accept that any politician has a private army. I am not prepared to have the BNP anywhere near my constituency – in previous times we have chased these individuals around.

“But I hope that we will take action and will look at the actions of the BNP. I don’t know whether a court case is proceeding because I think the young man is too shocked, but that’s just indicative of what the BNP is like.”

Tory MP Nigel Evans (Ribble Valley) said he was “very disturbed” to hear about the story and quipped: “What a dreadful waste of beer.”

But on a serious note, he added: “If people were beaten up every time beer was spilled over them, then there would hardly be any room in the accident and emergency of any hospital of this country and I do hope he is able to pursue it.”

Deputy Commons Leader Barbara Keeley, responding to the debate, said the news about Mr Drew’s constituent was a “serious thing”.

And she added: “We have had in the North West, in Wigan adjoining my constituency, violence around BNP meetings and it’s a very reprehensible aspect of their politics that this is what happens.

“We just can’t have it at all.”

Leave a comment